Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Heyboer and Freeman Earn First Team All-Big Ten Honors

Nov. 11, 2009

EAST LANSING, Mich. - Michigan State women's soccer players Laura Heyboer and Cara Freeman each were named to the All-Big Ten First Team it was announced by the conference on Thursday. Senior forward Lauren Hill earned a spot on the All-Big Ten Second Team.

For Heyboer, it is her second consecutive year being named to the all-conference first team. She joins Andrea Sied (2002-03) as the only other player in program history to garner first-team accolades in consecutive seasons. Heyboer scored eight goals and added five assists for MSU this season before suffering a season-ending injury on Oct. 25 in a win over Minnesota. Despite missing the last three games of the season, the sophomore forward finished tied for sixth in the conference in points. Her four game-winning goals are tied for most in the conference.

Freeman started 18 of 19 games in the midfield for the Green and White this season en route to picking up first team all-conference accolades. The junior is currently third on the team with 11 points - scoring three goals and five assists. Freeman's presence and experience proved even more vital to the Spartans' NCAA tournament run after MSU lost three midfielders to season-ending injuries. Last season she garnered all-conference second-team honors as a sophomore.

Hill, the Spartans' leading scorer, has now garnered All-Big Ten Second Team honors in consecutive seasons. Her 38 career goals and 91 career points each put her in sole possession of second place on the respective MSU all-time lists. The Northville native's 10 goals this season currently slots her fourth in the conference while her 23 points put her in a tie for fourth place. Her 13 career game-winning goals are the most in program history.

Senior Megan Brown was the Spartans' conference Sportsmanship Award honoree and is now eligible for the Big Ten Sportsmanship award which honors one female and one male student-athlete at the end of the school year.



The Spartans, who earned their second consecutive bid to the NCAA Championship, will take on Santa Clara on Friday at 6 p.m. ET in first round action.

Partners & Sponsors