Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Three Spartans Earn Postseason Big Ten Honors

May 10, 2017

EAST LANSING, Mich. -- - The Big Ten Conference has announced its All-Conference teams, and three Spartans are among the post-season honorees: junior Lea Foerster (Portage, Mich.), sophomore Kaitlyn Eveland (Anaheim, Calif.) and junior McKenzie Long (Alta Loma, Calif.)

“I’m thrilled for these players – they are hard-working , all-in, and have helped us turn in one of the best offensive seasons in program history,” said head coach Jacquie Joseph, who is in her 24th season at MSU and has coached 48 of MSU’s 64 all-time Big Ten selections. “They are representative of the hard work and effort put in by everyone in our program, and I’m thrilled that the hard work has paid off. “

Foerster earns First Team honors, and was a selection to the All-Defensive team. . She is putting together a season that finds her setting not only single-game records, but shattering season and career marks as well. Her batting average is .390, which is 10th among Big Ten players. She leads the league in doubles (21), is third in slugging percentage (.825), and ranks fourth in on-base percentage (.518). She is also among league leaders in hits (60, 11th), RBI (42, 11th), and home runs (14, fourth), and has not committed an error in 50 games in center field this season.

Entering the week, Foerster ranked in the NCAA Top 20 in doubles (21, first), runs per game (1.24, third), slugging pct (.833, 16th), and total bases (125, 14th). She is 26th in on-base percentage (.518), and 37th in homers per game (0.29).

Foerster’s 21 doubles and 14 homers this season are both the second-highest totals all-time in MSU history, while she has set the school record in runs scored (63), and extra-base hits (37). On the career front, Foerster is MSU’s all-time run-scoring leader (151), while posting 48 career doubles, (third), 10 triples (tied for 10th), 23 homers (sixth) and 81 extra-base hits, which ranks in a tie for second all-time. Her 183 career base knocks ranks 14th in the Spartan annals. Foerster was a Second Team All-Big Ten pick in 2015 as a freshman



Sophomore Kaitlyn Eveland has perhaps been MSU’s most consistently improving player this season, and earned a spot on the All-Big Ten Second Team. Eveland leads the team and ranks sixth in the Big Ten with a .396 average, ranks sixth in slugging (.709) and eighth in on-base percentage (.484). She is fifth with 47 RBI, a total which ranks tied for fifth in a season at MSU. Eveland’s 24 extra base hits is second among the Spartans and tied for eighth on MSU’s single-season list. Her .396 average would fall in MSU’s all-time single-season top 10.

Eveland was limited to just 31 games as a freshman after a concussion, and was injured during the team’s spring break trip in 2017. Since she has to form, her production has skyrocketed. Since the Illinois series began on April 14 (16 games), Eveland has hit 11 of her 14 doubles, three of her eight homers, and had 21 of her team-best 47 RBI, hitting .479 with a .938 slugging percentage and .583 on-base percentage. Both Foerster and Eveland are making a run at becoming MSU’s sixth (and possibly seventh) .400 hitter for a season. Patty Raduenz (.422 in 1996, .414 in 1995) did it twice, while Lindsey Hansen (.404, 2011) Kylene Hopkins (.404, 2013), and Keri Lemasters (.400, 1996) are the four to have accomplished the feat in seasons that they were named All-Big Ten performers.

Long was selected as MSU’s recipient of the Sportsmanship Award. Herself a player who has overcome significant injury to return to the playing field, Long has been a team leader for the Spartans throughout her three seasons, playing any position asked. is hitting .301 in her junior season, with 19 RBI, 14 sac hits (second in the Big Ten), three triples (fourth, B1G) and three doubles. After missing several games in each her first two seasons, Long is one of five players to appear in all 50 games in 2017.

First Team All-Big Ten
Breanna Wonderly, Sr., P, ILL
CaraMia Tsirigos, Sr., DP, IND
Tera Blanco, Jr., UT, MICH
Faith Canfield, So., 2B, MICH
Kelly Christner, Sr., OF, MICH
Lea Foerster, Jr., OF, MSU
Allie Arneson, So., SS, MINN
Sara Groenewegen, Sr., P, MINN
Kendyl Lindaman, Fr., C, MINN
Danielle Parlich, Jr., 3B, MINN
Emily Clark, So., 2B, OSU
Tori Dubois, So., OF, PSU
Mallory Baker, So., 1B, PUR
Taryn Atlee, Fr., 2B, RU

Second Team All-Big Ten
Leigh Farina, Jr., 2B, ILL
Rebecca Blitz, Jr., OF, IND
Natalie Peters, So., OF, MICH
Abby Ramirez, Sr., SS, MICH
Kaitlyn Eveland, So., 3B, MSU
Sydney Dwyer, Jr., 1B, MINN
Sam Macken, Sr., OF, MINN
Dani Wagner, Jr., OF, MINN
Kaylan Jablonski, Jr., UT, NEB
MJ Knighten, Sr., 3B, NEB
Alyvia Simmons, So., OF, NEB
Marissa Panko, Jr., SS, NU
Sabrina Rabin, Jr., OF, NU
Shelby Hursh, Sr., P, OSU
Taylor White, Jr., OF, OSU
Kaitlyn Menz, Fr., P, WIS
Chloe Miller, Sr., C, WIS
Brooke Wyderski, Jr., SS, WIS

All-Defensive Team
P: Sara Groenewegen, Sr., MINN
C: Kendyl Lindaman, Fr., MINN
1B: Alcy Bush, Sr., NU
2B: Kelsey Jenkins, Jr., WIS
SS: Rachel O’Malley, Jr., IND
3B: Anna Kirk, Sr., OSU
OF: Nicole Evans, Sr., ILL
OF: Cheyenne Pratt, Jr., IOWA
OF: Lea Foerster, Jr., MSU

Kendyl Lindaman, Fr., MINN

Sara Groenewegen, Sr., MINN


Jessica Allister, MINN

Sportsmanship Award Honorees:
Annie Fleming, ILL; Erin Lehman, IND; Sarah Kurtz, IOWA; Hannah Dewey, MD; Morgan Swift, MICH; McKenzie Long, MSU; Sam Macken, MINN; Bri Cassidy, NEB; Morgan Newport, NU; Anna Kirk, OSU; Gianna Arrizurieta, PSU; Erika Beeler, PUR; Jacqueline Kott, RU; Sara Novak, WIS

Partners & Sponsors