Add to Calendar
Skip to main content Skip to footer

Dec. 2, 1997

Three Spartan Spikers Earn All-Big Ten Recognition

EAST LANSING, Mich. - A trio of Spartans have earned All-Big Ten volleyball honors for 1997. Junior Jenna Wrobel was named First-Team All-Big Ten, her third such honor in as many years. She becomes only the second Spartan in history to receive the honor three times. Val Sterk (1993-96) was named to the team for the third time last season. Senior Veronica Morales earned First Team honors for the first time in her career after being named Honorable Mention for the past three seasons. Morales set MSU's all-time records in kills, attempts and digs this season. She leads the Big Ten in digs per game with 3.58 and is sixth in kills per game at 3.99.

Senior Lindsey Clayton earned Honorable Mention All-Big Ten kudos after recording the best season of her career. Clayton ranks eighth in the conference with 1.18 blocks per game and is 11th in hitting percentage at .293.

All-Big Ten                            Player of the Year
Bonnie Bremner, S, Penn State          Bonnie Bremner, Penn State 
Lauren Cacciamani, MH, Penn State
Amy Lee, OH, Wisconsin
Vanessa Wouters, OH, Ohio State        Freshman of the Year 
Becky Bauer, S, Minnesota              Dana Stearns, Ohio State 
Heather Dodaro, MB, Wisconsin
Kelly Kennedy, OH, Wisconsin
Linnea Mendoza, S, Michigan            Media and Coaches Co-Coaches of the Year 
Veronica Morales, OH, Michigan State   Russ Rose, Penn State 
Colleen Neels, S, Wisconsin            John Cook, Wisconsin 
Jenna Wrobel, OH, Michigan State
Terri Zemaitis, MH, Penn State
Honorable Mention
Sara Sorrell, MB, Illinois
Julie Flately, OH, Indiana
Karen Chase, OH, Michigan
Sarah Jackson, MB, Michigan
Lindsey Clayton, M, Michigan State
Nicole Branagh, OH, Minnesota
Jen Flynn, S, Ohio State
Christy Cochran, OH, Penn State

Partners & Sponsors